Posted by: rearadmiral | March 24, 2012

And I quote…

http://lifeand100books.com/2012/03/21/24-a-review-of-mr-fitzwilliam-darcy-the-last-man-in-the-world-by-abigail-reynolds/

From Daily Jane Austen:

‎”There are certainly not so many men of large fortune in the world, as there are pretty women to deserve them.” – Mansfield Park
“Yes,” said Mr. John Knightley presently, with some slyness, “he seems to have a great deal of good-will towards you(admin. “you” is in bold).” “Me!” she replied with a smile of astonishment, “are you imagining me to be Mr. Elton’s object?”-Emma
Reread “A Jane Austen Education: How Six Novels Taught Me About Love, Friendship, And The Things That Really Matter” by William Deresiewicz. I give it 3.75 teacups out of 5. It is a nice, quick read(255pgs). I quibble with some of his conclusions(and his comments about Marianne 🙂 ) but overall it is enjoyable. I like that the fact that he covers each of the big six in a separate chapter. Many remarked, in another group, that his “Mansfield Park” chapter was insightful and interesting. Liked when he talked about his favorite teacher. Hope he does a book about that teacher. Liked that Emma was his 1st Austen book.
“Bingley was as cheerful and eager as a beagle. ‘Upon my honour,’ he told his friend at the first ball, ‘I never met with so many pleasant girls in my life as I have as I have this evening’. But Darcy was as haughty as a Siamese cat, practically licking himself clean whenever someone touched him the wrong way”. -A Jane Austen Education: How Six Novels taught me about love, friendship and things that really matter by William Deresiewicz pg.45
Categories

