Posted by: rearadmiral | July 29, 2012

Quotes and Quiz

http://www.janeausten.co.uk/jane-austen-quiz/

“Fay Weldon remarks that ‘the young Miss Austen encompassed three hundred years of England’s past in fifteen pages, in a kind of early ‘1066 and All That’. She shows herself as very clever, very funny, exhilarated and exhilarating and impatient’. Austen revels in her partiality and her prejudices and cares not a fig for her ignorance”. From “The Friendly Jane Austen” by Natalie Tyler on “The History of England”

“Madam
An humble Admirer now addresses you-I saw you lovely Fair one as you passed on Monday last, before our House in your way to Bath. I saw you thro’ a telescope, & was so struck by your Charms that from that time to this I have not tasted human food.
George Hervey
-From Jane Austen’s Juvenilia story AMELIA WEBSTER

“I begin to feel very chill already. I must have caught a dreadful cold by this time-I am sure of being lain-up all the winter after it-‘ Then reckoning with her fingers, ‘Let me see; This is July; the cold weather will soon be coming in-August-September-October-November-December-January-February-March-April-Very likely I may not be tolerable again before May”. From Jane Austen’s Juvenilia story CATHERINE, or THE BOWER

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/gardening/9423348/Belmont-House-and-gardens-Faversham-Kent-visiting-a-piece-of-history.html

http://austenauthors.net/jane-austen-in-alaska

“I have got a nice dairy fitted up, and am now worth a bull and six cows, and you would laugh to see them, for they are not much bigger than jack-asses-and here I have got jackies and ducks and chickens….In short, you must come, and, like Hezekiah I will show you all my riches”. -Letter from Jane Austen’s mother to her sister-in-law, Mrs. Walter quoted in “The Friendly Jane Austen” by Natalie Tyler

“One cannot fix one’s eyes on the commonest natural production without finding food for a rambling fancy”-Jane Austen, Mansfield Park

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?
fbid=328936363863222&set=a.238668209556705.55060.238651049558421&type=1&theater

Categories

