Posted by: rearadmiral | September 29, 2012

Elizabeth Gaskell’s Bday

“…well, I know what I wish; only dear papa does not like it to be talked about. And now cover me up close, and let me go to sleep, and dream about my dear Cynthia and my new shawl!” -Last words written in Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell before she passed.

http://enchantedserenityperiodfilms.blogspot.ca/2009/04/elizabeth-gaskell.html

“You must give them to me,’ she said, trying to take them out of his hand with gentle violence.
‘Very well. Only you must pay me for them!’
‘How shall I ever tell Aunt Shaw? she whispered, after some time of delicious silence.
‘Let me speak to her.’
‘Oh, no! I owe to her,-but what will she say?’
‘I can guess. Her first exclamation will be, “That man!”
‘Hush! said Margaret, ‘or I shall try and show you your mother’s indignant tones as she says,
“That woman!” -Elizabeth Gaskell “North And South”
“You must give them to me,’ she said, trying to take them out of his hand with gentle violence.
‘Very well. Only you must pay me for them!’
‘How shall I ever tell Aunt Shaw? she whispered, after some time of delicious silence.
‘Let me speak to her.’
‘Oh, no! I owe to her,-but what will she say?’
‘I can guess. Her first exclamation will be, “That man!”
‘Hush! said Margaret, ‘or I shall try and show you your mother’s indignant tones as she says,
“That woman!” -Elizabeth Gaskell “North And South”

NT:I loved the moment of hysteria you depicted when Fanny realizes that Lucy Steele thinks she can marry one of her brothers:
HW:Yes. We worked on that scene. Emma had simply said to me that Fanny is doing some embroidery or some equally useless task…Fanny is trying to make a fan out of feathers. Of course, when we broke into a fight and I pinched and twisted Lucy Steele’s nose, the feathers spontaneously flew into the air. It was like the proverbial hen fight, which was a happy coincidence. -Harriet Walter interviewed by Natalie Tyler “The Friendly Jane Austen”.

Categories

