Posted by: rearadmiral | December 30, 2012

Happy New Year!!!

http://bookssnob.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/christmas-pudding-by-nancy-mitford/

“The Snow came to nothing yesterday, so I did go to Deane, & returned home at 9 o’clock at night in the little carriage-& without being very cold”. -JA to Cassandra Austen 12/26/1798

http://mrshotpotato.blogspot.com/2012/12/christmas-candy-making.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FGNlwh+%28Hot+Potato%29

Deb Barnum @austeninvermont
All I Want for Christmas? ~ Anything Jane Austen Please! ~ Day 5: Jane Austen Bandages http://wp.me/pdZvG-25T

Jane Austen’s Emma @DailyEmmaQuotes
It is very difficult for the prosperous to be humble. #FrankChurchill #MrChurchill #MrsWeston #Emma #JaneAusten

Jane gets fan mail!!
“Madam-
I have been most anxiously waiting for an introduction to Emma & am infinitely obliged to you for your kind recollection of me, which will procure me the pleasure of her acquaintance some days sooner than I should otherwise have had it-I am already become intimate in the Woodhouse family, & feel that they will not amuse & interest me less than the Bennetts(sp), Bertrams, Norriss(sp) & all their admirable predecessors-I can give them no higher praise” -The Countess of Morley to Jane Austen 12/27/1815

Jane responds!!
“Madam
Accept my Thanks for the honour of your note & for your kind disposition in favour of Emma. In my present state of doubt as to her reception in the World, it is particularly gratifying to receive so early an assurance of your Ladyship’s approbation. It encourages me to depend on the same share of general good opinion which Emma’s Predecessors have experienced, & to beleive(sp) that I have not yet-as almost every Writer of Fancy does sooner or later-overwritten myself”. -JA to the Countess of Morley 12/31/1815

” I am a Jane Austenite, and therefore slightly imbecile about Jane Austen….She is my favourite author! I read and re-read, the mouth open and the mind closed. Shut up in measureless content, I greet her by the name of most kind hostess, while criticism slumbers. The Jane Austenite possesses little of the brightness he ascribes so freely to his idol. Like all churchgoers, he scarcely notices what is being said.”
—E. M. Forster

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-hampshire-20678244

Categories

