Posted by: rearadmiral | March 24, 2013

March Austenness!

Rohan Maitzen (@RohanMaitzen) tweeted at 1:08 PM on Thu, Mar 21, 2013:

“Jane Austen is important to me because she demonstrates how large narratives can occupy small spaces.” – Carol Shields.

http://sarahemsley.com/2013/03/22/how-to-become-an-expert-by-lady-catherine-de-bourgh/

My Jane Austen Book Club shared Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre’s status.

If I think of Shakespeare’s sonnets I, like Marianne Dashwood, like sonnet 116 very muchhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8lgbyITv2A
Happy World Poetry Day. Do you have a favourite poem?

http://austenprose.com/2009/12/29/sense-and-sensibility-1971-–-movie-review/

Pride & Prejudice quote of the week: “What a charming amusement for young people this is, Mr. Darcy! – There is nothing like dancing after all. – I consider it as one of the first refinements of polished societies.” (Sir William Lucas to Mr. Darcy) Chapter 6.
 
A couple of old quotes:

Jane tweets(?): “I am going to write nothing but short Sentences. There shall be two full stops in every Line. Layton and Shear’s is Bedford House….And how little time…..Let me be rational & return to my two full stops”. JA to CEA Weds Sept. 15,1813

Jane in Eastern Mass?
“But for there being no Ice, what could prepare me!-Weymouth is altogether a shocking place I perceive, without recommendation….by the inhabitants of Gloucester….You found my letter at Andover”. JA to CEA Friday 9/14/1804

 
I’ve always wondered about Mr. and Mrs. Hale, Margaret’s parents. I’m interested in their story. Maybe there should not only be a sequel to North and South, but a prequel, about Mr. Hale and Mrs. Hale when they were young. 😀 No? Just me? Okay…but a girl can dream, can’t she? 😛
 
Pride & Prejudice quote of the week: ‘Her performance was pleasing, though by no means capital.’ (Elizabeth) Chapter 6.
 
“She grew absolutely ashamed of herself. Of neither Darcy nor Wickham could she think, without feeling that she had been blind, partial, prejudiced, absurd.”
Categories

