Posted by: rearadmiral | May 29, 2013

Soon to be June

“Jane Austen: A Life” by Claire Tomalin

4.5 Regency Teacups! I have wanted to read this one for a long time. It was well worth the wait. It is 284 pages. Sometimes it seems abit longer than that, especially in the beginning when explaining family connections. Once she gets going on Jane’s life and writings, it was difficult to put the book down. -Kirk

“…..even authors who know with part of their minds that they are among the great must also doubt themselves. On good days they laugh like gods; on bad days they turn back to the bad reviews and crass comments, and shiver. Jane Austen was surely no different”. pg 238 “Jane Austen: A Life” by Claire Tomalin

“She has a way of sending biographers away feeling that, as Lord David Cecil put it, she remains ‘as no doubt she would have wished-not an initmate but an acquaintance.’ Her sharpness and refusal to suffer fools makes you fearful of intruding, misinterpreting, crassly misreading the evidence.” -pg 282 “Jane Austen: A Life” by Claire Tomalin

http://www.baltimoremagazine.net/people/2013/06/cameo-juliette-wells

http://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/lady-catherine-de-bourgh-a-pride-and-prejudice-celebration-part-one/

http://sarahemsley.com/2013/05/28/how-to-write-a-happy-ending/

http://www.smittenbybritain.com/a-day-at-sidmouth-in-the-footsteps-of-jane-austen/

In Jane’s words
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/telegraph-view/10081972/In-Janes-words.html

http://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/2013/05/25/a-drive-through-chawton-village/

http://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/a-pictorial-visit-to-chawton/

JASNA AGM2014
“Mrs Norris too is a single woman occupying a marginal position in the Bertram household. She is the only person other than Fanny who spends time worrying about her own ‘importance’ and trying to find ways to believe herself to be ‘useful.'” Amy J. Pawl, “Fanny Price and the Sentimental Genealogy of _Mansfield Park_,” Eighteenth-Century Fiction 16.2.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen Movie

Very sweet! Perhaps too sweet for most. Emily Blunt is lovely. I wasn’t aware she was Prudie in the Jane Austen Book Club. I will have to go back and rewatch her in that. I have been told the book by Paul Torday has an unhappy ending, so I won’t be reading it. Thank you Mary Josephine Crawley(DAUT) for the heads up on this one! -Kirk
5 Regency Teacups

“Yesterday was a busy day with me, or at least with my feet & my stockings; I was walking almost all day long; I went to Sydney Gardens soon after one, & did not return till four . . . ” Jane Austen to Cassandra, April 21, 1805

“I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but, like everybody else, it must be in my own way.” – Sense and Sensibility

http://www.whatjanesaw.org/

“Defiant Brides: The Untold Story of Two Revoluntionary-Era Women and the Radical Men They Married” by Nancy Rubin Stuart

The twin bios of Peggy Shippen Arnold and Lucy Flucker Knox(I won’t say her name 10 times fast) are interesting. I knew something about their husbands. I was aware of Nathanael Greene’s interesting wife “Caty”. The book also serves as a good overview of the Revolutionary War. 
4 Regency Teacups

“Lucy said that this was most kind, and at once opened the Baedeker, to see where Santa Croce was.
“Tut, tut! Miss Lucy! I hope we shall soon emancipate you from Baedeker. He does but touch the surface of things. As to the true Italy–he does not even dream of it. The true Italy is only to be found by patient observation.”
E.M. Forster (A Room with a View)

Responses

  1. I’m loving your blog! Quite unique. 🙂 Salmon fishing in the Yemen was a gorgeous movie – the videography was superb, and even though the movie wasn’t particularly fast paced, something about it was just appealing in a way I find difficult to describe!
    I was listening to the Book Report radio show yesterday, where Defiant Brides was among the handful of books being highlighted. They also had an interview with the author, and, being into historical novels myself, it sounded like a potentially good read. Your review, giving it 4 Regency Teacups, has made up my mind. As an avid reader, you may enjoy taking a listen to the show too; I’ve found the fact that they read an excerpt from each of the audio books to be really helpful in finding books that suit my preferred writing style. If you’re interested, you can find the radio stations and schedules, as well as archived show recordings on their site (bookreportradio(dot)com.

    • Thanks for the kind comments and info about the radio show Tish!! Defiant Brides is non-fiction, as usual I was unclear!! Salmon Fishing is such a gem!


Categories

