Posted by: rearadmiral | July 18, 2013

July 18th

“What I have lost, no one but myself can know, you are not ignorant of her merits, but who can judge how I estimated them?-God’s will be done, I have been able to say so all along, I thank God that I have”. From Cassandra Austen to Anne Sharp Monday July 28, 1817

“I have lost a treasure, such a Sister, such a friend as never can have been surpassed,—She was the sun of my life, the gilder of every pleasure, the soother of every sorrow, I had not a thought concealed from, & it is as if I had lost a part of myself…..You know me too well to be all afraid that I should suffer materially from my feelings, I am perfectly conscious of the extent of my irreparable loss, but I am not at all overpowered & very little indisposed, nothing but what a short time, with rest & change of air will remove”. From Cassandra Austen to Fanny Knight Sunday July 20, 1817

“The last sad ceremony is to take place on Thursday morning, her remains are to be deposited in the Cathedral–it is a satisfaction to me to think that they are to lie in a Building she admired so much–her precious soul I presume to hope reposes in a far superior Mansion. May mine one day be reunited to it…..I did not think to have written a long letter when I began, but I have found the employment draw me on & I hope I shall have giving you more pleasure than pain”. From Cassandra Austen to Fanny Knight Sunday July, 20, 1817

(nothing directly to do with Austen but…) Happy Bday to Nicolette Larson! As I have mentioned before, so odd that her birth and death dates are nearly exactly opposite of Jane Austen’s dates.

Nicolette B July 17, 1952 D Dec 16, 1997
Jane B Dec. 16, 1775 D July 18, 1817

I think someone could make a good Austen fan video from Lotta Love. -Kirk 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iU3u5UDjYeY

Another warm one in Boston. Delighted to welcome Joyce!

A Jane Austen daydream by Scott D. Southard

Some interesting moments in this book(I read it on a free kindle offering). Some dull moments in this book(especially the beginnings of the later chapters). A delightful ending. 

3.25 regency teacups out of 5

I agree with the review below. -Kirk

http://indiejane.org/2013/07/review-a-jane-austen-daydream/

Would you read about Mary Bennet? Me, highly unlikely. This review by Jennifer Duke of the Bennet Sisters blog makes it more tempting than I would have thought. -Kirk

http://thebennetsisters.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/book-review-the-pursuit-of-mary-bennet-a-pride-and-prejudice-novel/

She beheld a striking resemblance of Mr. Darcy, with such a smile over the face as she remembered to have sometimes seen when he looked at her. She stood several minutes before the picture in earnest contemplation.

~ Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

Her short bio of Jane Austen is one of the best I have read. -Kirk

http://www.cbc.ca/books/2013/07/tribute-to-carol-shields.html

There is an old literary formula about how the novelist may be excellent at creating vicious or “bad” characters (Charles Dickens’s Quilp, Jane Austen’s Mary Crawford) but has trouble making virtuous ones convincing or interesting (Austen’s Fanny Price, Dickens’s Esther Summerson). The first time I reviewed a number of poets together (an “omnibus” chronicle for The Hudson Review), …

http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/07/16/word-of-the-day-encomiastic/

http://prideandprejudice200years.blogspot.com/2013/07/fotospics-usaeeuu-austen-in-boston.html?spref=tw

Persuasion by Jane Austen
Reviewed July 12, 2013
★★★★★

http://refractedlightreviews.com/?p=15946

Memorable literary fathers…

Mr Bennet (Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen): “Mr Bennet appears to be something of a divisive father figure. On the one hand he is generous, a lover of life and clearly dotes on his five daughters; however, his detractors point to his imperfections: his tendency to withdraw when it comes to the big decisions – especially when it comes to Elizabeth’s marital prospects – and his lack of financial foresight. Us? We think his failings are only human. His spirit should be an example to all dads.”

More here:http://www.shortlist.com/entertainment/books/30-most-memorable-literary-fathers

What dreadful hot weather we have! It keeps one in a continual state of inelegance.
— Jane Austen, Letter (1796)

Categories

