Posted by: rearadmiral | July 27, 2013

North and South 1975/The Real Housewives of Jane Austen etc.

Happy Bday to Olivia Williams and Kate Beckinsale!!!!!

The Real Wives of Jane Austen:

Hooray for George! We’re celebrating the arrival of the royal baby with our brand new 1/2 pint mug! We’ve got a new royal pottery range on the website too!http://bit.ly/144Hdca

OXFORD: A copy of Jane Austen’s juvenilia entitled Volume the First is to be published by the Bodleian Library.

The book takes its name from the inscription on the cover and includes stories, plays and verses she wrote during her teenage years.

None of the author’s six novels have survived in manuscript form.

The book costing £25 will be published in October.

I watched the 1975 North and South on youtube. Not too bad. While everyone acting in 2004 was better, most in 1975 were at least good. Only the actor who played Higgins seemed very odd. As some may know, Tim Pigott-Smith played Mr Hale in 2004 and his son Frederick in 1975. -Kirk

From Elizabeth Gaskell Appreciation Page‘s status.

UPDATE: I’ve found North and South of 1975 on YouTube!! I haven’t watched it full yet, but there are four parts. The title is in Russian, but the audio is English, with no subtitles. I hope you enjoy!!http://youtu.be/uC6TtZNkk_Ihttp://geoffwhaley.com/2013/06/07/book-38-willoughbys-return-jane-odiwe/

“What’s the news from Kent?”
A lovely view of Scotney Castle and its garden in the English county of Kent http://LDN.in/KEFFMg
 
Marcela De Vivo blogs about Jane Austen and Music at My Jane Austen Book Club blog: What Would Be in Jane Austen’s iPod?http://thesecretunderstandingofthehearts.blogspot.it/2013/07/what-would-be-in-jane-austens-ipod.html
 
From the mighty JASNA VT Jane Austen in Vermont – JASNA Vermont Region

Sir Walter Scott wrote in his journal on March 14, 1826:
Also read again, and for the third time at least, Miss Austen’s very finely written novel of _Pride and Prejudice:

 
That young lady had a talent for describing the involvements and feelings and characters of ordinary life, which is to me the most wonderful I ever met with. The Big Bow-wow strain I can do myself like any now going; but the exquisite touch, which renders ordinary commonplace things and characters interesting, from the truth of the description and the sentiment, is denied to me. What a pity such a gifted creature died so early![222]

Scott’s journal entry for September 18, 1827, has the following reference to Austen: 

September 18.–Wrote five pages of the _Tales_. Walked from Huntly Burn, having gone in the carriage. Smoked my cigar with Lockhart after dinner, and then whiled away the evening over one of Miss Austen’s novels. There is a truth of painting in her writings which always delights me. They do not, it is true, get above the middle classes of society, but there she is inimitable.

And this is Austen’s famous comment on Scott:

Walter Scott has no business to write novels, especially good ones. – It is not fair. – He has Fame & Profit enough as a Poet, and should not be taking the bread out of other people’s mouths. – I do not like him, & do not mean to like Waverley if I can help it – but fear I must…

Abbotsford on the south bank of the River Tweed, the Scottish Borders, was formerly the home of the historical novelist and poet, Sir Walter Scott http://LDN.in/bQXhpH
 
 
Harvard University Press adds Sense and Sensibility to its series of annotated classics.
Photo: Harvard University Press adds Sense and Sensibility to its series of annotated classics.
 
“Everybody is very much concerned at our going away, & everybody is acquainted with Chawton & speaks of it as a remarkably pretty village . . . ” Jane Austen to Cassandra, December 9, 1808
Responses

  1. I have really loved the old North and South series. If you are open minded, I liked very much, because despite its faults, it’s closer to book :). I was never a fan of the modern version (too much soap opera for me), so I have loved this one! 🙂

  2. Thanks for commenting! Interesting comment. Lol, I strongly prefer 2004 because the actors are familiar and I love their interactions(especially Thornton and Higgins). I reread the book recently and prefer the 2004 to the book.


Categories

