Posted by: rearadmiral | March 23, 2014

Fanny, Fanny, Fanny..Or, the perks of an Austen wallflower

In defense of Fanny by one of my favorite members of JASNA MA, John Gould(we had a great chat about the minor league Pittsfield Mets once). 

http://jasnama.org/FannyPrice.html

How I Came to See Fanny Price’s Light
jasnama.org
The first time I read Mansfield Park I remember nothing but disappointment. I know I’m not unique in this reaction; lots of people can’t stand its heroine, Fanny Price. I remember a web discussion group on Jane Austen that specifically forbad any…
 
Mansfield Park Musings: A Creepmouse With a Nasty Bite
janeaustensociety.nl
Mansfield Park Musings
 
Speaking of “delighting” you all long enough with my (mostly) 70’s JA collection(thank you especially Jane Austen in VT and now All Things Jane Austen for sharing it)…..please join first Henry Crawford and then Edmund in singing…..Bee Gees: “Fanny(Be Tender With My Love)”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4qrEOCNr3g&feature=kp
 
In “honour” of the Miss Bates on the T Wednesday night…(I agree with you on the issue in question but the T is not the place push one’s views):

“Her creative genius cannot be better summed up than in the words of one of her earliest readers, who wrote to Fanny Knight: ‘A great many thanks for the loan of Emma, which I am delighted with. I like it better than any. Every character is thoroughly kept up. ….Miss Bates is incomparable, but I was nearly killed with those precious treasures! They are Unique, & really with more fun than I can express. I am at Highbury all day, & I can’t help feeling I have just got into a new set of acquaintance. No one writes such good sense & so very comfortable’. ” -“Jane Austen” by Deirdre Le Faye pg104

Photo: In "honour" of the Miss Bates on the T Wednesday night...(I agree with you on the issue in question but the T is not the place push one's views):

"Her creative genius cannot be better summed up than in the words of one of her earliest readers, who wrote to Fanny Knight: 'A great many thanks for the loan of Emma, which I am delighted with. I like it better than any. Every character is thoroughly kept up. ....Miss Bates is incomparable, but I was nearly killed with those precious treasures! They are Unique, & really with more fun than I can express. I am at Highbury all day, & I can't help feeling I have just got into a new set of acquaintance. No one writes such good sense & so very comfortable'. " -"Jane Austen" by Deirdre Le Faye pg104
 
The Talk Like Jane Austen Quote of the Day:
The ball began. It was rather honour than happiness to Fanny, for the first dance at least: her partner was in excellent spirits, and tried to impart them to her; but she was a great deal too much frightened to have any enjoyment till she could suppose herself no longer looked at. Young, pretty, and gentle, however, she had no awkwardnesses that were not as good as graces, and there were few persons present that were not disposed to praise her. She was attractive, she was modest, she was Sir Thomas’s niece, and she was soon said to be admired by Mr. Crawford. It was enough to give her general favour. Sir Thomas himself was watching her progress down the dance with much complacency; he was proud of his niece; and without attributing all her personal beauty, as Mrs. Norris seemed to do, to her transplantation to Mansfield, he was pleased with himself for having supplied everything else: education and manners she owed to him.
Photo: The Talk Like Jane Austen Quote of the Day:
The ball began. It was rather honour than happiness to Fanny, for the first dance at least: her partner was in excellent spirits, and tried to impart them to her; but she was a great deal too much frightened to have any enjoyment till she could suppose herself no longer looked at. Young, pretty, and gentle, however, she had no awkwardnesses that were not as good as graces, and there were few persons present that were not disposed to praise her. She was attractive, she was modest, she was Sir Thomas's niece, and she was soon said to be admired by Mr. Crawford. It was enough to give her general favour. Sir Thomas himself was watching her progress down the dance with much complacency; he was proud of his niece; and without attributing all her personal beauty, as Mrs. Norris seemed to do, to her transplantation to Mansfield, he was pleased with himself for having supplied everything else: education and manners she owed to him.
 
Oh! I am delighted with the book! I should like to spend my whole life in reading it. I assure you, if it had not been to meet you, I would not have come away from it for all the world.

— Catherine Morland from Northanger Abbey

Photo: Oh! I am delighted with the book! I should like to spend my whole life in reading it. I assure you, if it had not been to meet you, I would not have come away from it for all the world.

-- Catherine Morland from Northanger Abbey
 
Could Jane Austen have guessed that almost two hundred years later readers would still treasure her story?
Photo: Could Jane Austen have guessed that almost two hundred years later readers would still treasure her story?
 

London Calling: COULD JANE SELL CHOCOLATE?
general-southerner.blogspot.com
 
“Although they may seem at first reading to be no more than undramatic stories of ordinary young men and women falling in love, it is the importance of this event in anyone’s life which gives them their perennial popularity. Second and subsequent readings gradually reveal the depth of Jane’s literary skill and instinctive understanding of the vagaries of human nature in the way she creates her characters by deft touches of dialogue and authorial comment until they step off the page as living individuals”. -Deirdre Le Faye “Jane Austen” pg104
Austen In Boston: A Jane Austen Book Club's photo.
Austen In Boston: A Jane Austen Book Club's photo.
 
 
The definition of culture clash…
Photo: The definition of culture clash...
 
Dear Winter, “You’ve have delighted us long (sooooo) enough. It’s time for other young seasons to exhibit themselves”.
Good morning Boston! Happy First Day of Spring!
Photo: Good morning Boston! Happy First Day of Spring!
 
Can’t believe I didn’t think of this one before….added to my (mostly) 70’s JA songs…

Adm Croft, Capt W, and Lieutenant William Price sing The Village People: “In the Navy”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InBXu-iY7cw

Village People – In the Navy OFFICIAL Music Video 1978
Village People – In the Navy available now on iTunes !!! http://bit.ly/19v1jIa Looking for…
 
 
 
Photo
 
 
The Talk Like Jane Austen Quote of the Day:
“My dear Fanny, you feel these things a great deal too much. I am most happy that you like the chain, and that it should be here in time for to-morrow; but your thanks are far beyond the occasion. Believe me, I have no pleasure in the world superior to that of contributing to yours. No, I can safely say, I have no pleasure so complete, so unalloyed. It is without a drawback.”
Edmond, Mansfield Park, Chapter 27 (II, 9)
Photo: The Talk Like Jane Austen Quote of the Day:
"My dear Fanny, you feel these things a great deal too much. I am most happy that you like the chain, and that it should be here in time for to-morrow; but your thanks are far beyond the occasion. Believe me, I have no pleasure in the world superior to that of contributing to yours. No, I can safely say, I have no pleasure so complete, so unalloyed. It is without a drawback."
Edmond, Mansfield Park, Chapter 27 (II, 9)
 
“Box Hill! I hear you can see for miles”. Which is true. Tis a lovely lovely spot!
 
Photo
 
Thank you Jane Austen in VT(a great page and blog) for liking this and rebloging it!

Jane Austen in Song, Or, How the 1970s Was Really All About Jane Austen
janeausteninvermont.wordpress.com
“Rear Admiral” of Austen in Boston posted this on a Jane Austen discussion group, his facebook page, and his blog. I think it is quite brilliant, and it will give you your Daily Chuckle – he gives …
 
Happy Bday Keri Russell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jane Erstwhile, if I never had to speak with another human being but you, I would die a happy man.

~ Austenland, Shannon Hale

Photo: Jane Erstwhile, if I never had to speak with another human being but you, I would die a happy man.

~ Austenland, Shannon Hale
 
Austen In Boston: A Jane Austen Book Club's photo.
 
Tuesday at 7:00pm
Brookline Public Library
 
 
Categories

