Posted by: rearadmiral | August 11, 2014

“Summer” by Edith Wharton and other tales, Romola’s Bday!! Daniela’s Bday!!! Janet McTeer’s Bday!

http://sarahemsley.com/2014/08/11/a-summer-reading-marathon/

I read “Summer” a couple of years ago(thanks to the leader of my non-AiB reading group). While it’s far too grim for my (limited) taste, Wharton’s description of a summer breeze making it’s way thru town is one of the finest things I’ve ever read. As always, Sarah’s post is excellent reading. Sarah’s description of the library in the book as a vision of hell reminds me of North and South 2004. Margaret Hale writes to her cousin, “I’ve seen hell and it’s white” (cotton mills). -Kirk

“La riservatezza della sua condotta verso di lei contraddiceva un momento dopo ciò che uno sguardo più acceso aveva suggerito il momento prima. ”

-Jane Austen (Ragione & Sentimento) .
Photo: “La riservatezza della sua condotta verso di lei contraddiceva un momento dopo ciò che uno sguardo più acceso aveva suggerito il momento prima. ”

-Jane Austen (Ragione & Sentimento) ❤ .


The Many Faces of the Novel

Illustration for a review of "The Novel: A Biography" by Michael Schmidt, in the August 10 NY Times Book Review.

http://www.incidentalcomics.com/2014/08/the-many-faces-of-novel.html

http://sarahemsley.com/2014/08/08/austens-ands-ors-and-buts/


So where do we stand with Louisa and Henrietta Musgrove? What did you think about Louisa's sudden engagement to Captain Benwick? And Henrietta's to Charles Hayter?

Happy Bday Romola!!! https://www.facebook.com/LaMiaVitaDaJaneite/photos/a.492228064158221.1073741832.490529104328117/688759667838392/?type=1&theater
" Considerando quanto è bella, sembra che se ne occupi poco; la sua vanità è altrove."

-Jane Austen (Emma) .


Rudyard Kipling & Jane Austen = Janeite

http://janeausteninvermont.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/travels-with-ron-dunning-jane-austens-horsmonden-from-on-high/

Responses

  1. Thank you, as always, for sharing links to my blog. I appreciate it! Glad you found something to like in Summer. Those pretty pictures on the Scribner editions conceal a lot of bleakness, don’t they? I wonder if there’s an edition of Summer with a bleak and therefore more realistic image from The Mountain. Probably not.

    • Always a pleasure to share your great links! Great point about the cover. A bleak Summer cover could be like some of 40’s and 50’s P&P covers I’ve seen. Darcy smoking, for example, is just vile in my view. It will be interesting to see the covers Margaret Sullivan finds for her upcoming book on Austen book covers. The Annotated Emma by David M Shapard was just a dress. Not “chocolate boxy” for me so I pasted on a couple of photos from Emma 09(my favorite Austen adaptation, although Emma is my 4th favorite of the big six) on the cover. Cheers!


Categories

