Posted by: rearadmiral | September 7, 2014

The Last Best Kiss, Forming Minds, Downton Abbey teas, and other stories

A Review of “The Last Best Kiss” from me(Kirk):

After reading Claire LaZebnik’s Mansfield Park modern teen adaptation(thanks @Sarah Emsley for finding and reviewing!) “The Trouble with Flirting”, I decided to give this one a try. As with the brilliant review below, I wasn’t sure how Persuasion would translate into the teen years:
From Jess on Goodreads:
“Persuasion is probably the Austen that I’m pickiest about with adaptations, mostly because it’s my favorite but also because I think it tells the most human story. I was a little apprehensive about the high school setting despite my fondness for the other works, because Persuasion is such an adult story of second chances and I wasn’t sure how that would translate.
As it turns out, I shouldn’t have worried.
And really, if you’re going to retell the story, high school is a GREAT place to do it, because so much of those four years are about learning who you are and how not to let your friends influence you and doing things you wish you could take back later. And beyond that, I just really liked the way that the book is much more explicitly about a circle of friends and how their messed up family lives can effect that.
I liked this a lot. So which book is next?”
While I wasn’t quite as “moved” reading this as I was reading Laurie Horowitz’s “The Family Fortune”, I was “moved” several times. And
there’s an element of the ending that I really enjoyed. 4.25 regency teacups out of 5!

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18602796-the-last-best-kiss


Venerdì 12 Settembre andrà, invece, in onda alle 21.10 “Io, Jane Austen” (“Miss Austen Regrets”), in replica Sabato 13 alle 16.00, Domenica 14 alle 22.10 e Mercoledì 17 alle 01.00!

~Io, Jane Austen
Photo: Venerdì 12 Settembre andrà, invece, in onda alle 21.10 “Io, Jane Austen” (“Miss Austen Regrets”), in replica Sabato 13 alle 16.00, Domenica 14 alle 22.10 e Mercoledì 17 alle 01.00! ❤ ^_^

~Io, Jane Austen

Devoted Fans of Pride & Prejudice (2005)'s photo.
Written by Kirk Companion · September 7, 2014 at 12:30pm · ·
As another page pointed out, I love Simon and Rosamund looking at each other in the top photo! As some know, they dated in college.

On This Day 9 Years Ago (September 5th, 2005), the Cast of Pride & Prejudice (2005) film attended the P&P London Premiere!

Pride and Prejudice (L to R) cast: #ClaudieBlakley, #KellyReilly, #CareyMulligan, Jena Malone, #DonaldSutherland, #KeiraKnightley, #MatthewMacfadyen, #BrendaBlethyn (front), #TalulahRiley, #SimonWoods, #RosamundPike and #TomHollander attend the UK Premiere of their film "Pride & Prejudice" at the Odeon Leicester Square on September 5, 2005 in London, England.
Devoted Fans of Pride & Prejudice (2005)
On This Day 9 Years Ago (September 5th, 2005), the Cast of Pride & Prejudice (2005) film attended the P&P London Premiere!

Pride and Prejudice (L to R) cast: ‪…

http://sarahemsley.com/2014/09/05/forming-minds-mind-and-memory-in-mansfield-park/

Forming Minds: Mind and Memory in Mansfield Park
Eighteenth in a series of posts celebrating 200 years of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park. For more details, open Your Invitation to Mansfield Park.Lorrie Clark is an Associate Professor of English at …
SARAHEMSLEY.COM


Mr. Knightley to Emma—

"Emma, I must once more speak to you as I have been used to do; a privilege rather endured than allowed, perhaps, but I must still use it. I cannot see you acting wrong, without remonstrance. How could you be so unfeeling to Miss Bates? How could you be so insolent in your wit to a woman of her character, age, and situation? Emma, I had not thought it possible."

"…Her situation should secure your compassion. It was badly done indeed! You, whom she had known from an infant, whom she had seen grow up from a period when her notice was an honor – to have you now, in thoughtless spirits, and pride of the moment, laugh at her, humble her – and before her neice, too – and before others, many of whom (certainly some ) would be entirely guided by your treatment of her. This is not pleasant for you, Emma – and it is far from pleasant to me; but I must, I will – I will tell you the truths while I can; satisfied with proving myself your friend by very faithful counsel and trusting that you will some time or other do me greater justice than you can do now. "
Photo: Mr. Knightley to Emma—

"Emma, I must once more speak to you as I have been used to do; a privilege rather endured than allowed, perhaps, but I must still use it. I cannot see you acting wrong, without remonstrance. How could you be so unfeeling to Miss Bates? How could you be so insolent in your wit to a woman of her character, age, and situation? Emma, I had not thought it possible."

"…Her situation should secure your compassion. It was badly done indeed! You, whom she had known from an infant, whom she had seen grow up from a period when her notice was an honor – to have you now, in thoughtless spirits, and pride of the moment, laugh at her, humble her – and before her neice, too – and before others, many of whom (certainly some ) would be entirely guided by your treatment of her. This is not pleasant for you, Emma – and it is far from pleasant to me; but I must, I will – I will tell you the truths while I can; satisfied with proving myself your friend by very faithful counsel and trusting that you will some time or other do me greater justice than you can do now. "

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.826301197388401.1073741850.110939692257892&type=1
Costumes from Mansfield Park ("007) (14 photos)


Save the Date! Sunday, October 5, from 1pm-5pm for Fancy That's annual Autumn Open House! We'll be serving up our delicious fall flavoured tea breads and yummy seasonal tea! No need to RSVP, Just stop by Photo: Jamie R. Doyle Photography

http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/culturehousedaily/2014/09/why-boys-love-jane-austen/


C'est l'heure d'un petit café…et pourquoi ne pas le déguster en pensant au romantique John Thornton…

Categories

