Posted by: rearadmiral | January 10, 2016

1/10/16 Happy Bday Cassandra Elizabeth Aussten and Tom Lefroy

An old post…now with images attached(I hope)….
“In 1994 the BBC proposed that we co-produce Jane Austen’s last book, Persuasion. It’s my favorite Austen, the quintessential second-chance love story……I thought our audience would go nuts with frustration and irritation if, after two hours of rooting for Anne and the captain and longing for their reunion, they couldn’t see them kiss. Never mind that in Jane Austen’s time, there never would have been such a public display of affection. I suggested that the captain and Anne could slip into the shadows behind a column or something and thereby avoid the wrath of the purists-the Jane Austen police”. -Rebecca Eaton “Making Masterpiece” pg108-109

A sweet sweet film in any language!

https://reveriesunderthesignofausten.wordpress.com/2014/07/20/cassandras-2nd-letter-on-janes-death-to-anne-sharp-mon-28-july-1817/

https://reveriesunderthesignofausten.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/cassandras-letter-1-to-fanny-sunday-july-20-1817-upon-janes-death/

http://becomingjane.blogspot.com/2007/07/biography-of-cassandra-austen.html

Oh, this one gets me every time! -Kirk

From Sarah Emsley:

More on food in Jane Austen’s Emma: Catherine Morley has studied books about food, medicine, and health in the Chawton House Library collections, and in today’s guest post for “Emma in the Snow” she focuses on Mr. Woodhouse. “… while his hospitality would have welcomed his visitors to every thing, his care for their health made him grieve that they would eat.”

http://sarahemsley.com/2016/01/08/why-mr-woodhouse-takes-care-about-what-his-guests-eat/

January 8

Happy Bday to Tom Lefroy!!!!
“At length the Day is come on which I am to flirt my last with Tom Lefroy, and when you receive this it will be over—my tears flow as I write, at the melancholy idea”. JA to CEA 1/15/1796
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Langlois_Lefroy

Make haste and enter now! Take me with you if you win!
http://austenmarriage.com/sweepstakes/

Interesting post from one of my favorite bloggers….
http://babblingsofabookworm.blogspot.com/2016/01/my-planned-reads-for-january-2016.html#more

Found via @Sarah_Emsley! Image choice is by me.
5 Reasons to read Sanditon!
https://drgregorytate.wordpress.com/2016/01/06/five-reasons-to-read-jane-austens-sanditon/

Found via Austenprose and Talk like Jane Austen Day:
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/12/27/books/review/what-do-jane-austens-novels-have-to-tell-us-about-love-and-life-today.html

From Sarah Emsley:

Dan Macey wrote about the significance of mutton in Jane Austen’s Emma–and about the challenges of “mutton shopping in North Philadelphia”–for my “Emma in the Snow” series. Recipes included (for those of you with a taste for mutton).

http://sarahemsley.com/2016/01/06/discovering-mutton-in-emma-the-quest-to-please-the-principals-palates/

Anyone have book lists they want to share? Of course, you’re reading the books we are reading….right???? (I’ll give you a pass on Tess…)

From Curtis Sittenfeld:

So Publishers Weekly ran its review of Eligible (http://bit.ly/1TCnhSP) but it’s not the only one to weigh in. Some other comments from my early readers:
“I think Sisterland is a better book, but I enjoyed Eligible more.”
– my brother PG Sittenfeld
“Your language is mostly good, but in places it’s ye olde clunky.”
– my sister Jo
“I enjoyed this more than any novel I read this year. Oh, I guess I haven’t read any other novels this year, have I?”
– my sister Tiernan
“Shouldn’t country club be capitalized?” – my dad
“The first sentence of the last chapter literally almost ruins the entire book.” – my husband
“If you had half as many references to dildos and farts, I’m sure you could still achieve what you’re going for.” -my editor
Those are all totally real btw.

Fun!
http://justjane1813.com/2016/01/03/we-still-need-her-a-year-long-journey-through-austens-pride-and-prejudice/

Remember the servants!!!(but please don’t mention a certain vile book about P&P servants from a couple of years ago)
“Chapter the Eighth
THE ASSISTANCE OF SERVANTS
‘Mary’s promised maid has jilted her and hired herself elsewhere’ -Jane Austen, Letters, 1800
‘You should always remember the coachman and horses’ -Mansfield Park, Chapter 25
Rule 1) The number of servants kept must be in proportion to the master or mistress’s income, not aspirations
Rule 2) Servants must be properly trained and supervised
Rule 3) Servants should know their place, and keep to it
Rule 4) Show respect towards servants
Rule 5) Establish a bond of mutual regard
Rule 6) Never be over-familiar with servants
Rule 7) Be guarded: servants have ears
Rule 8) Consider the coachman” -pgs 115-130, “Jane Austen’s Guide to Good Manners” by Josephine Ross

I started 2016 with a book about cats(yeah, big surprise there!).
“You Need More Sleep: Advice from Cats” by Francesco Marciuliano.
My 2nd book(started late last month) was “The World of Jane Austen” by Nigel Nicolson. Great photos(mostly homes she lived in/visited/might have visited/wanted to visit) and so-so text.
Two good books to try to get over the Tess “experience”. Who was the dummy who choose that book….err…hmm ME!
How about you?
-Kirk

Found via….
Jane Austen Society of Islamabad
This elegant, glamorous lady (Ms Lyze Lynch) was part of the Jane Austen Festival in Bath in 2015; absolutely love her look! ‪#‎RegencyFashion‬ ‪#‎Regency‬ ‪#‎JaneAusten‬ http://www.janeaustenfestivalbath.co.uk/…/Masked-Ball-6583.…

JANEAUSTENFESTIVALBATH.CO.UK


Anyone else trying a project like this?

A great blog post from Deborah Yaffe:

HOME AMONG THE JANEITES ABOUT THE AUTHOR ABOUT JANE AUSTEN EVENTS BLOG CONTACT
Blog
Back to Post List
Kicking off the Austen Catch-Up Project
By Deborah Yaffe, Jan 4 2016 02:00PM
The first days of the new year are a time for bracing confessions of inadequacy, so here’s (one of) mine: I’m a lazy Janeite.

Every month or two, I notice a glowing review of a newly released Austen-related book, and I think, “I should buy that.” Or a Janeite acquaintance mentions the insights she gleaned from a classic work of criticism, and I think, “I really should have read that.” Or my Google alert tosses up a link to an obscure Austen-themed game or puzzle or straight-to-video adaptation, and I think, “That sounds fun. I should check it out.”

And then life — with its laundry and its work deadlines and its tempting romance novels — intervenes, and I never get around to any of it.

But now it is 2016! The air is fresh! The slate is clean! I will do better! And to ensure that this time I really will, I’m putting my private resolutions into bloggily public form and announcing my year-long Austen Catch-Up Project.

Subject to change, it’s going to go something like this, with blogs to announce my results along the way:
Jane Austen on film: Starting slow. . .
January: Watch “Austentatious” (TV show)
February: Read As If! The Oral History of Clueless (2015), by Jen Chaney

Jane Austen’s life: Biographies I meant to read but never did
March: Read Jane Austen: A Biography (1938), by Elizabeth Jenkins.
April: Read Jane Austen: A Life (1997), by David Nokes.

Jane Austen’s times: History I really should know more about
May: Read Jane Austen’s England: Daily Life in the Georgian and Regency Periods (2013), by Roy and Lesley Adkins.
June: Read In These Times: Living in Britain Through Napoleon’s Wars, 1793-1815 (2015), by Jenny Uglow

Jane Austen fanfic: Because it’s summer
July: Read Mrs. Bennet Has Her Say (2015), by Jane Juska
August: Read The Marriage of Miss Jane Austen (2015), by Collins Hemingway

Jane Austen criticism: Scholarly works I’m embarrassed to admit I haven’t read
September: Read Jane Austen’s Philosophy of the Virtues (2005), by Sarah Emsley
October: Read A Revolution Almost Beyond Expression: Jane Austen’s Persuasion (2007), by Jocelyn Harris

Jane Austen miscellany: Because it’s holiday time
November: Cook a meal from The Jane Austen Cookbook (2002), by Maggie Black and Deirdre LeFaye
December: Play “Marrying Mr. Darcy: The Pride and Prejudice Card Game”

Even for as lazy a Janeite as I, reading nine books, watching a TV series, cooking a meal and playing a card game — all in the course of a year — shouldn’t be that hard, right? Of course, along the way I’ll undoubtedly rack up more AustenDebt, in books unread, shows unviewed and games unplayed — but then there’s always 2017. . .

http://www.deborahyaffe.com/blog/4586114521/Kicking-off-the-Austen-Catch-Up-Project/10425770

Categories

