Posted by: rearadmiral | March 4, 2016

3/4 Marching in like a Lion Lamb

“One man’s ways may be as good as another’s, but all like our own best.” -Admiral Croft Volume II, Chapter I pgs 236-238 Shapard
In praise of Admiral Croft!!! From 1971, 1995(the best), and 2007.

The Best Fruit in England

The Best Fruit in England
sarahemsley.com
The Best Fruit in England

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lauren-daley/8-ways-to-fill-the-void-o_b_9331314.html

A little late on this one….but much like Lady Catherine I send you no compliments, you don’t deserve any…..
Adm Croft: “Such a number of looking-glasses!”

Jane Austen Society of North America’s photo.
Jane Austen Society of North America
March 1 at 6:55pm ·
Happy Birthday, Sir Walter Elliot, born March 1, 1760. You don’t look a day over 250 years old.

(from JASNA-WI Region’s “A Year with Jane Austen” Calendar)

Lol….and what did Georgiana Darcy say in the book…………
****************
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Answer: Nothing! She had zero lines/words/anything….still stunned after reading in John Mullan’s great book “What Matters in Jane Austen?: Twenty Crucial Puzzles Solved”

Devoted Fans of Pride & Prejudice (2005)’s photo.
Devoted Fans of Pride & Prejudice (2005)
March 1 at 11:20pm ·
Pride & Prejudice ‪#‎TriviaTuesday‬

Answer: Georgiana Darcy

~*~

If you answered Miss Georgiana Darcy, you were correct! She said this to Miss Elizabeth Bennet when she visited their home at Pemberley. This was her full qoute from the movie: “Miss Elizabeth! My brother has told me so much about you. I feel as if we are friends already.” smile emoticon Great job to everyone that got this one right! smile emoticon like emoticon That was easy, wasn’t it? wink emoticon TBC with more P&P Movie trivia next Tuesday! smile emoticon

Alas, some people don’t get Austen. Stunning! Please the comment below and Abigail Bok’s brilliant answer:
What I don’t get is the reason for the modern popularity of the books (the two I’ve read so far) beyond a history lesson in what women suffered through for many generations. How many books does one need to read about that period in history?
Abigail Bok:
Although there is value in Jane Austen’s books as historical documents (especially if read in an annotated edition) and they do illuminate a lot about women’s status in England in the early 19th century, I don’t think either of those elements is in any way the central focus of her novels. They are really social comedy—Jane Austen was a very shrewd and hilarious observer of human psychology, not just female psychology. (Persuasion is the least humorous of them all, though.) I love reading about all the characters’ personality foibles! For me, that ability to convey what people are really like is what makes her books timeless (and much greater works of art than anything written by the Brontës, though the Brontë novels have more events in them).
So comparing her works to books about “women living today who are trying to make the best of not very much greater options” seems a bit beside the point to me. Those words imply to me a certain level of preachiness, which her novels lack; the lessons we draw are implicit. I tried to do a modern adaptation of one of her books and found it very hard in a modern context to avoid that kind of lecturing! Made me respect her gifts even more.
I also take great pleasure in Jane Austen’s words and sentences; they are like eating chocolate bonbons for me. She has a real gift for zingers at the ends of sentences—you think you know where she’s going with a thought, and then she goes someplace totally different.
And here’s a link to Abigail’s book:
https://www.goodreads.com/…/22612906-an-obstinate-headstron…

Cinthia Garcia Soria, co-founder of Jane Austen en Castellano, wrote about Spanish translations of Jane Austen’s novels for “Emma in the Snow.” (And she sent a picture of two snow-covered volcanoes near Mexico City.)

Jane Austen and her Emma in Spanish
Cinthia Garcia Soria is a freelance translator (from English to Spanish) and she’s working towards a Master’s degree in Applied Linguistics in Translation Studies at the Universidad Nacional Autóno…
SARAHEMSLEY.COM

https://www.thereadingroom.com/article/15-beautiful-libraries-in-the-u-s/642

Calling Andrew Davis…please write a screenplay for this! Please kindly cast Emma Watson(Harry Potter) as…..Emma Watson!!!!! (I’ve only tilted at this windmill for 6 yrs!)

*rolls eyes*
http://classiclit.about.com/…/On-the-Imbecility-of-Jane-Aus…

On the ‘Imbecility’ of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey
We take a closer look at characters in Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey and enter into discussion with Edward Neill’s “The Secret of Northanger Abbey.”
CLASSICLIT.ABOUT.COM|BY ROOF BEAM READER

Might have posted this one last year…but saw it again on the Jane Austen Picture Wall…..
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/…/Revealed-the-real-inspiration-…

Revealed: the real inspiration for Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park
An academic believes he has found the real inspiration for Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park
TELEGRAPH.CO.UK

https://twitter.com/AustenWords/status/703642892305207299…

AustenWords on Twitter
“””But indeed I would rather have nothing but tea.” #Comfort”
TWITTER.COM|BY AUSTENWORDS

Advertisements

Categories

%d bloggers like this: